New Mound City Mayor, Aldermen, Sworn In

Mound City's new mayor and two returning Aldermen were sworn into office during last week's meeting.

Chris Krueger replaces Larry Russell as Mayor after running unopposed in the April 3rd municipal election. North Ward Alderman Bob Heck and South Ward Alderman James Krueger also ran unopposed for reelection and were sworn in to new terms on the council.

After being sworn into office, Mayor Krueger presented a plaque to outgoing Mayor Russell, who had served as mayor from 1996 to 2004, and just completed another two-year term for a total of 10 years as mayor.

Aldermen reelected Jim Krueger as president of the board, and approved other appointments as well. Patsy Smith was reappointed Mound City Clerk; Brian Tubbs was reappointed City Attorney; and Kelly Miller City Collector,

Mayor Krueger reappointed all Aldermen to their current departments. Alderman Heck will supervise the administration and police departments, Jim Krueger will supervise the street department, Kristine Gibson will supervise the park, pool, and health departments, and Jason Biermann will supervise the water and sewer departments.

Mound City will advertise for individuals interested in serving as Building Inspector. Mayor Krueger had been Building Inspector prior to being elected mayor, and he will remain as inspector for approval of building permits until a new inspector is hired.

The board also approved reappointing Sarah Montgomery and Jordan Krueger to four-year terms on the Park and Recreation Board.