Principal Change at Axtell Next School Year

There will a new principal at the Axtell/Summerfield schools next school year.

During a special meeting Monday evening, the Prairie Hills USD 113 Board of Education accepted the resignation of principal Brian Rottinghaus, effective June 30th.

Rottinghaus will become a social science teacher at Axtell beginning next school year.

The board voted to reassign Bob Bartkoski, who has been serving as a counselor at Axtell, as the K-12 principal at the Axtell and Summerfield schools for next school year.

The board also directed Superintendent Dennis Stones to negotiate and work with a candidate for principal at the Wetmore Attendance Center.

David Schmitz is retiring effective June 30th after serving as principal the past five years. Prior to the beginning of the meeting, Jeff DeMint was sworn in as a board member to fill the unexpired term of the late Roger Brockhoff.

Many Signals Communcations