Falls City Council Discussing Use of Time Clocks

(KLZA) The Falls City, City Council approved a number of board appointments and

re-appointments when they met Monday evening. The Council also approved the sale by sealed bids a parcel of land the City owns in the Appleoff Addition.

The Council tabled action on possibly utilizing time clocks for City employees to use instead of the current system of the employee writing in the time they come to work and leave.

City Administrator Gary Jorn said one of the goals of the City for 2013 is to become for efficient. (play audio :15 seconds)

Jorn said there is not a great deal of tardiness at the present time but noted he feels it would help with the desired efficiency. (play audio :33 seconds)

Jorn estimated it would take 8 or 9 time clocks for the city and the cost could be up to \$4,000. The Council members voted to table the matter until language can be worked out with the unions representing the workers.

Jorn noted that he and Utility Superintendent Alan Romine would be conducting interviews with department supervisors, seeking suggestions on how to make the departments more efficient.

The appointments approved by the Council Monday night included:

Board of Electrical Examiners: Gary Jorn, Ken Arnold, Pat Stamper, Alan Romine;

Board of Health: City Attorney, Council President, Chief of Police, Mayor, Gayle Keller.

Board of Plumbing Examiners: Alan Romine, Gary Jorn, Marc Ramsey and Doug Wheeler;

Board of Public Works: Brad Albu

Cemetery Board: Ramona Godemann, Grant Smith, Marjean Werner;

Housing Board: Ed Harris, Adam Morris, Karla Capps;

Library Board: Tim Heckinlively;

Park Board: Nick Harling, Jill Meyer, Carole James;

Police & Fire Selection – Steve Hoffman;

Tree Board: Bruce Walker, Don Baldwin;

Budget Committee: Mike Dougherty, Mayor; Jerry Oliver, Angie Nolte;

Health Insurance Committee: Doug Wheeler, Marc Ramsey, Jamie Baker, Gary Jorn, Judy Murphy, Carol Bentley, Alan Romine, Tim Hersh, Steve Deckinger, Julie Hutfles;

Negotiating Committee - Management: Mike Dunn, Jerry Oliver, Mayor, Don Ferguson,

Negotiating Committee – CWA – Gary Jorn, Mike Dunn, Mayor, Jerry Oliver, Jim Wisdom, Judy Murphy;

Negotiating Committee – IBEW – Gary Jorn, Mayor, Jerry Oliver, Mike Dunn, Steve Scholl, Carol Bentley;

Negotiating Committee IUOE: Carol Bentley, Mike Dunn, Gary Jorn, Mayor, Jerry Oliver, Steve Scholl, Don Ferguson;

Pension Committee: Carol Bentley, Alan Romine, John Caverzagie, Dave Aitken, Jerry Roland, Jamie Baker, Gary Jorn, Megan Stamper, Larry Strecker;

Safety Committee: Doug Wheeler, Marc Ramsey, Alan Romine, Carol Bentley;

MEAN Board of Directors: Alan Romine, Merle Veigel;

MEAN Management Committee: Alan Romine, Merle Veigel

Many Signals Communications