Oklahoma Sorghum Commission Seeks Applicants

The Oklahoma Sorghum Commission is holding an election to consider applications for the District 4 board of director position.

Anyone who is at least 25 years-old, a resident of Oklahoma, actively engaged in the production of sorghum in the state for a period of at least five years, and derives a substantial portion of their income from the production of sorghum is eligible to serve on the commission. The nominee must also reside and farm in the district for which he or she is seeking election.

Voters in District 4 will elect one director to serve a five-year term. District 4 consists of Adair, Cherokee, Craig, Creek, Delaware, Garfield, Grant, Kay, Lincoln, Logan, Mayes, McIntosh, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Rogers, Sequoyah, Tulsa, Wagoner, and Washington Counties.

Any person qualified to serve on the commission may nominate his or her name to represent the district in which he or she resides on the Oklahoma Sorghum Commission for the maximum term of five years. Nomination forms are available after April 9, 2013 from the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, county extension offices, and grain elevators. Nomination forms must be returned to the Oklahoma Sorghum Commission by April 19, 2013.

Ballots will be available from the Oklahoma Sorghum Commission, Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, county extension offices, and grain elevators on May 2, 2013. Ballots must be postmarked by midnight May 28, 2013, and mailed to the Oklahoma Sorghum Commission, 4201 N Interstate 27, Lubbock, Texas 79403. Please call the Oklahoma Sorghum Commission office at 800-658-9808 with any questions you may have.