Otoe County Designated Livestock Friendly

(KLZA) -- Nebraska Lt. Gov. Lavon Heidemann Tuesday announced the official designation of Otoe County as Nebraska's newest Livestock Friendly County. With the addition of Otoe County, there are now 24 counties designated as Livestock Friendly through the state program, including: Gage, Jefferson, and Johnson counties.

Lt. Gov. Heidemann presented the Livestock Friendly certificate to Otoe County Commissioners C.R. Hauptman, Rick Freshman, Carol Crook, Timothy Nelsen and Steve Lade. The county will receive road signs bearing the program logo to display along highways. The program is coordinated by the Nebraska Department of Agriculture.

To apply for a livestock friendly county designation, the county board must hold a public hearing and pass a resolution to apply. A completed application is then submitted to Department of Agriculture for review. Local producers or community groups can encourage their county board to submit a livestock friendly county application.

Additional information on the Livestock Friendly County program is available by contacting NDA toll free at 800-422-6692, or by visiting the Department of Agriculture website at www.nda.nebraska.gov and clicking the Livestock Friendly County link.

Many Signals Communications