Brown Co Conservation District annual meeting

(KNZA)--The annual meeting of the Brown County Conservation District will be held February 20th at the Fisher Center in Hiawatha.

The meeting will begin at 6:00 that evening with a meal provided by the Morrill and Janes Bank and Trust.

Dr. Mykel Taylor will be the guest speaker. Dr. Taylor is an associate professor in the department of agricultural economics at Kansas State University. She will be presenting a talk focusing on Kansas' agricultural land values, rental rates and fair leasing agreements.

The Board of Supervisors will report on their activities and financial affairs since the last annual meeting. An election will be conducted for two supervisors to serve a term of three years. The terms of current supervisors, Michael Lanter and Mathew Elliott, are expiring.

The annual Bankers Awards will be presented to Matthew Mueller, Kenneth Krug, James T. Holthaus and Willie and Katie Geisendorf. The Buffer Award will be presented to Tom Kidwell. In addition, the Grassland Award will be presented to Dan and Jan Hermesch.

There is no charge for the meal. Your asked to call Niki at the Brown County Conservation District Office by Feb. 16 to make a reservation for the meal. The office phone number is 785-742-3161, ext. 331 or e-mail at lana.tollefson@ks.nacdnet.net.

Many Signals Communications