Drought Assistance Program Announced by USDA

Secretary of Agriculture Jackie McClaskey welcomed an announcement of additional drought assistance from USDA for Kansas farmers and ranchers.

"We greatly appreciate the drought assistance provided by USDA NRCS. This technical and financial support being offered will provide resources to help Kansas farmers and ranchers affected by ongoing drought conditions. We encourage producers in eligible counties to visit their local USDA office to learn more about this assistance opportunity," said Secretary McClaskey.

Drought recovery funding assistance is available through the Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP) Drought Initiative. This drought assistance will benefit Kansas agriculture in many counties where an emergency drought declaration has been declared, including: Barber, Barton, Butler, Chase, Clark, Clay, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Dickinson, Edwards, Ellsworth, Finney, Ford, Geary, Grant, Gray, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Harvey, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearney, Kingman, Kiowa, Lincoln, Lyon, Marion, McPherson, Meade, Morris, Morton, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Sedgwick, Seward, Shawnee, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Sumner, and Wabaunsee.

For more information, visit https://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/site/ks/home/.