Number of contested SE Neb races Tuesday

(KLZA)--Polls will be open Tuesday from 8:00 a.m. to 8 p.m. in Nebraska.

There are a number of contested races for positions in area southeast Nebraska counties.

In Richardson County, Republican John Caverzagie is running against Democrat John Coonce for District 1 County Commissioner. The winner will replace Jim Davidson who did not seek re-election.

In Falls City, three people seek the position of Mayor. Carla Rhodd and Shawna Bindle advanced to the General Election this past May. Recently Mark Harkendorff entered the race as a write-in candidate. Mayor Jerry Oliver did not seek re-election.

Seeking the Ward 2 Council seat will be Lucas Froeschl and Kaylie Ractliffe.

In Ward 3, Terry Lee Stradtman is attempting to unseat current Council member Mitch Merz.

In Humboldt Robert R. Mendenhall and Dale Oehm seek to replace Crystal Dunnecacke who did not seek re-election as Mayor.

Doris DeJong and Jan Wilhelm are seeking the Ward I Council seat in Humboldt with Kendra Douglas and Dustin White running for the Ward 2 Humboldt Council seat.

Seven people seek three seats on the Village Board of Rulo. Incumbents Dion Grier and Quincey L. Smith seek re-election. Also running will be Norm Thompson, Jimmy Coonce, Kraig Coonce, Trevis Keller and Nathan J. Popejoy.

Three seats are up for election for the Dawson Village Board of Trustees. Michael Wendlandt, Incumbents Charles Laux and Lyndsay Maahs as well as Dennis McClarnen.

Six people are on the ballot for the Village Board of Trustees in Verdon. Verna Shelton, Jacob Bents, Bret Lewis Townsend and Gale Moore are running along with incumbents Denise Koso and Brenda Streit.

In Pawnee County, there are two races for County Commissioner. Republican Brad Stake and Democrat Ron Seitz are running for the District 2 Commission seat. Incumbent Jan Lang, Republican and Democrat James Zelenka are running

for the Third District Commissioner seat.

There are no other contested races for county offices in Pawnee County.

Deborah Klein and John Dahlgren are seeking the postion of Pawnee City mayor.

Two Pawnee City Council seats are up for election. Five people seek the seats. Incumbent Ric Helms is running and current Mayor Charlie Hatfield is also running for the Council. Also entering the race is R.J. Hickey, Katie McAhon and write-in candidate Donnie Fisher.

In Johnson County, Republican Nadine Beethe and Liberterian John Sterup seek the position of County Treasurer.

Republican James Erickson and Democrat Les Agena seek the position of Third District commissioner.

Two people on the ballot for Mayor in Tecumseh. William (Bill) Montz Sr. and Lavern Bartels are running for office.

Four people are running for two positions on the Tecumseh Airport Authority. Phillip Julifs, Michael Wendt, Douglas Bernadt and Jerome Conradt are on the ballot.

Seven people are on the ballot for the three seats open on the Village Board of Trustees. Brian Schmidt, John Keizer, Ralph Wusk, Tom Nivien Dwight Weiss, Eldon Wilken and Vane Rengstorf.

In Nemaha County, Nebraska, there are two races for seats on the County Commission. Republican Michael Hall and Democrat Mike Sullwod seek the District 1 seat. Republican Larry Holtzman and Democrat Michael Weiss are seeking the Third District seat.

Debora Heidzig a Republican is seeking the position of County Clerk along with Democrat Jana Gerdes.

Three seats are open on the Village Board of Trustees. Andrea Rinkleff, Natasha Winkelman, Martin Hayes and Robert Sailors are on the ballot.

Three seats are up for election on the Village Board of Steinauer. Thomas Lutcagish, Byford Schmit, Robert Steinauer and Kristen Herricj will appear on the ballot.

There are a number of school board races during Tuesday's election.

In Falls City, running for the District 56 Board of Education are: Incumbents, John Martin, Richard Malcolm and Kevin Scheitel. Also seeking the three seats are Joseph Jarred, Tedd Gilkerson and Bob Campbell.

The District 70 HTRS School Board has four people running for three spots. Incumbents Scott Ogle and Neal Kanel are running for re-election with Leah Reyes and Tim Schaardt also running.

For School Board District 1, the Pawnee City Board, Incumbents Terry Borcher, Lisa Hunzeker and Hoe Koester look to retain seats with Bryce Niss and Brady Johnson also seeking to fill one of the three openings.

Seeking seats on the Johnson County Central School Board will be Susan Borcher, Kim Wellensiek, Justin Beethe and Gail Hutt.

Four people are on the ballot for three positions on the Sterling Board of Education. Lois Lempka Agena, Rick Vollman, Stan Karr and Kevin McAuliffe seek the seats.

There are a couple of races in the area with write-in candidates. Voters are reminded they must darken the oval next to the write-in candidate line on the ballot and then write the name of the person you wish to vote for.

Many Signals Communications