Trump approves MO disaster declaration

(MSC News)--President Donald Trump Tuesday approved Missouri's request for a major disaster declaration to assist residents and businesses in 20 counties in the state affected by flooding, tornadoes, and severe storms that began April 29 and continue to impact the state.

The President's declaration makes the federal Individual Assistance program available to eligible residents in the included counties, including Andrew, Atchison,Boone, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Cole, Greene, Holt, Jackson, Jasper, Lafayette, Lincoln, Livingston, Miller, Osage, Pike, Platte, Pulaski, and St. Charles counties.

Residents in those counties can now register for Federal Emergency Management Agency assistance with temporary housing, housing repairs, and the replacement of household items.

In a news release, Missouri Governor Mike Parson calls the President's approval "important news for Missouri families and communities that have been hit so hard by the continuing flooding, tornadoes, and severe storms this year."

The state's June 24 request for a federal disaster declaration stated that Preliminary Damage Assessments examined 1,650 primary homes, of which 953 had been destroyed or sustained major damage. The assessments also showed that 125 of 251 businesses that were examined had been destroyed or sustained major damage.

Many Signals Communications