SE Neb schools closed to at least May 1

(KLZA)—While initial health measures are in practice across the state of Nebraska, a news release from the Southeast District Health Department says additional aggressive prevention measures are needed.

Based on recommendations from the Southeast District Health Department and the Nebraska Education Commissioner, Dr, Matt Blomsteadt, public and private schools within Educational Service Unit 4 are extending their closure date through May 1, with the possibility of closing for the remainder of the 2019-20 school year to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.

Each school will continue to provide educational learning opportunities for their students according to their own school plan.

The affected schools include: Auburn, Falls City Public and Sacred Heart. Humboldt-Table Rock – Steinauer, Johnson-Brock, Johnson County Central, Lewiston Consolidated Schools, Nebraska City Public and Lourdes Central Catholic, Palmyra-Bennet, Pawnee City, Sterling, St. Andrew Elementary School, and Syracuse Public Schools.

ESU 4 Superintendents sad the decision was made with the highest level of seriousness, acknowledging the challenge this decision places on families.

Superintendents of ESU 4 schools will meet with Southeast District Health Department officials will reevaluate school closures after May 1, to ensure the measures continue to be appropriate and determine if longer term closures are needed.

Many Signals Communications