Nemaha County establishes planning commission

(KMZA)-The Nemaha County Commission approved a resolution Tuesday establishing a planning commission and naming the nine initial members.

The planning commission will help develop a comprehensive plan for the county.

Appointed to a one-year term on the commission, expiring September 30, 2021, were Austin Petry, Lynette Strathman and Galen Ackerman.

Appointed to a two-year term on the commission, expiring September 30, 2022, were Michael Schmelzle, Charity Henry and Steve Aberle.

Appointed to a three-year term on the commission, expiring September 30, 2023, were Freda Dobbins, Martin Schmelzle and Bob Ruddick.

After the initial staggering terms, all members appointed will serve three-year terms.

Each commissioner selected three residents each from their district for appointment to the planning board.

At their first meeting, which is to be held before the end of October, the planning commission will select a chairman, vice-chairman and secretary to serve a one-year term. They will also set a date and time for their regular monthly meeting. In addition, they will prepare by-laws to govern the conduct of the commission in accordance with state statutes.

The planning commission members will serve without compensation, but may be reimbursed for expenses directly related to their service.

Keith Marvin with Marvin Planning Consultants, of David City, Nebraska, was hired in July to oversee development of the county's comprehensive plan at a cost of up to \$36,000. The contract allows either party to opt out at anytime, with the company due payment for the amount of work completed. Many Signals Communications