Brown, Jackson County election results

(KNZA)--Hiawatha voters Tuesday elected Becky Shamburg as the city's new mayor. Shamburg defeated Brian Shefferd by a vote of 599 to 482. Both currently serve on the city commission.

Incumbent Hiawatha Commissioner of Finance David Middendorf won re-election in a three-way race. Middendorf received 443 votes, Laura Tollefson, 398 votes, and Thomas Martin received 217 votes.

Incumbent 1st District Brown County Commissioner Richard Lehmkuhl easily won re-election to another term. Lehmkuhl, a Republican, defeated Democratic challenger Bill Collins, who currently serves as Hiawatha mayor, by a vote of 1,087 to 222.

The Brown County Clerk's Office reported a nearly 52 percent voter turnout.

Meanwhile, Jackson County voters Tuesday elected a new 1st District county commissioner. Democrat Mark Pruett defeated incumbent Republican Ed Kathrens by a vote of 946 to 877.

Many Signals Communications