Outgoing USD 415 board members recognized

(KNZA)--Three outgoing Hiawatha School Board members were recognized when the board met Monday evening.

Superintendent Lonnie Moser presented plaques to Amy Kopp, Tom Simmer and Jeff Brockhoff in appreciation of their 8 ½ years each on the board. Monday marked their last meeting.

The three were initially elected to the board in April 2015 and didn't seek re-election this year.

Simmer said he felt the board had worked together well during his tenure, even though they didn't always agree. He cited improving teacher pay as their biggest accomplishment.

Mitchell Brown, Ryan Patton and Griff Howard were elected in November to replace the three outgoing board members. They will take their seats on the board next month after being sworn in.

In other business, Board President Ian Schuetz presented certificates of recognition to staff members Joshua May, Natalie Hackler, Jeff May, Denny Gray and Gordon Gunderson for outstanding work. They were nominated for recognition by district patrons

Following an executive session, the board accepted a pair of resignations and approved several new hires.

The board accepted the resignations of elementary school stem teacher Kent Michel and high school English teacher Alec Rodvelt. Both resignations are effective at the end of the current school year.

The board approved the hiring of Amanda Frierdich as 5th grade social studies teacher and Madee Lierz as high school counselor for the 2024-2025 school year.

The board also approved the hiring of Kristin Clark as school nurse at the middle and high school, effective immediately.

In addition, the board filled several coaching positions for the current school year. Approved was the hiring of Josh Chandler as high school assistant baseball coach, Danny Siebenmorgen as high school assistant baseball coach and Kelsey Hubin as high school assistant softball coach.

Many Signals Communications