Chief Judges reappointed locally

(KAIR)--Local area judges are among the chief judges reappointed in 29 judicial districts of Kansas.

According to a release from the Kansas Courts, the terms begin January 1,2024 and end December 31, 2025.

In the 1st Judicial District, comprised of Atchison and Leavenworth counties, Chief Judge Joan Lowdon was reappointed as Chief Judge, a role she's filled since January of this year. Lowdon has served as a district judge since 2020.

In the 2nd Judicial District, which includes Jefferson, Jackson, and Pottawatomie counties, Chief Judge Jeffrey Elder was reappointed to the role he's served since 2020. His time as district judge began in 2008.

The chief judge of the 22nd Judicial District, which includes Brown, Doniphan, Marshall, and Nemaha Counties, was also reappointed. Chief Judge John Weingart has served in that role since January of this year, and has served as a district judge since 2000.

The release, issued Friday, explains that each of Kansas' 31 judicial districts has a chief judge who, in addition to their judicial responsibilities, has general control over case assignments within the district, as well as general supervisory authority over the administrative and clerical functions of the court.

Many Signals Communications