Three area educators honored

(KNZA)--Three area educators are among thirty-two Kansas educators being recognized for their outstanding teaching skills through the 2024 Kansas Horizon Award program.

The 2024 Kansas Horizon Award recipients were recently announced by the Kansas State Department of Education.

They include Atchison County Elementary School teacher Erica Harper, Jackson Heights High School teacher Sarah Cormier and Oskaloosa High School teacher Zachariah Harvey.

According to a release from the Kansas Department of Education, the educators will be honored at a special ceremony during the Kansas Exemplary Educators Network State Education Conference on Feb. 23 in Topeka.

The release says the Kansas Horizon Award program, sponsored by KSDE, allows all school districts in the state to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award.

To be eligible for the award, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding.

The program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's U.S. congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each region.

© Many Signals Communications

You will need to be logged in to leave a comment.

Please Login

characters left

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.

Click here to review our Terms of Use.