Ks Governor Seeks Disaster Declarations for Area Counties

(KNZA)--Kansas Governor Sam Brownback has asked for federal disaster declarations for 37 more counties—including those in the local area--hit by drought, extreme heat, high winds and wildfires. The governor's office said Friday he's asked the U.S. Department of Agriculture to declare 37 more counties disasters, making farmers there eligible for USDA disaster assistance programs. Locally, the request includes Atchison, Brown, Doniphan, Jackson, Jefferson, Leavenworth, Nemaha, and Pottawatomie.

If the 37 are approved, that would mean 103 of the state's 105 counties are primary federal disaster areas. The two that are not, Marshall and Washington, border primary counties and would receive disaster declarations as contiguous counties.

The Governor's request reflects the recommendations of the Kansas State Emergency Board. County Farm Service Agency offices must report at least a 30 percent countywide production loss in a crop in order for a county to be recommended by the board for disaster declaration.

Many Signals Communications