Area Counties Eligible for SBA Loans

(KAIR) -- Small, nonfarm businesses in 47 Kansas counties and neighboring Missouri and Nebraska counties are now eligible to apply for low?interest federal disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration.

Area primary counties include Jefferson and Leavenworth counties.

Neighboring counties include Atchison and Jackson counties, and Platte County, Missouri.

Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to \$2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

By law, SBA makes EIDLs available when the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster. Secretary Tom Vilsack declared this disaster on July 25, 2012.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance.

Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency (FSA) about the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) assistance made available by the Secretary's declaration. However, in drought disasters nurseries are eligible for SBA disaster assistance.

Many Signals Communications