Local Ks Counties Declared Federal Disaster Areas

(KNZA)--Local northeast Kansas counties have been declared federal disaster areas due to the severe drought.

Kansas Governor Sam Brownback made the announcement Wednesday.

Atchison, Brown, Doniphan and Jackson Counties were declared as primary disaster areas.

Jefferson, Leavenworth, Nemaha, Pottawatomie and Shawnee were named contiguous disaster counties.

Agricultural producers in the counties will be eligible for federal disaster assistance programs. Meanwhile, the U.S. Department Agriculture has agreed to allow emergency haying on Conservation Reserve Program acres.

U.S. Senator Pat Roberts says it's good news for the livestock producers hit hard by the drought...(play audio)

There are more than 726-thousand acres of CP25 land in Kansas, and according to CRP regulations, farmers and ranchers are allowed to hay half of the acres.

Many Signals Communications