General Election Results From County Races

(KNZA)--Area voters went to the polls Tuesday to decide races for national, state, and county offices along with several special questions.

In Atchison County, longtime Sheriff John Calhoon was defeated in his bid for re-election by Atchison Police officer Jack Laurie by a more than 800 vote margin.

Bill Pohl was elected as the new 3rd District County Commissioner. He will replace Tom Wagner who didn't seek re-election.

And Shelley Campbell was elected as the new Register of Deeds. She will replace Marlene Wagner who is retiring.

Voters in Atchison USD 409 overwhelming approved an \$8.8 million bond issue for facility improvements.

In Brown County, incumbent 2nd District County Commissioner Keith Olsen won re-election to a second four-year term defeating write-in candidate Roger Madere. Olsen received 63 percent of the vote to Madere's 37 percent.

In Doniphan County, voters said yes to allowing liquor-by-the-drink in establishments where food accounts for 30 percent of gross receipts by a more than 850 vote margin.

Current Undersheriff Chad Clary will become the new Doniphan County Sheriff replacing longtime Sheriff Jerry Dubach who is retiring. Clary easily defeated challenger Jason Liechti.

Terry Horner was elected as the new 2nd District Commissioner and incumbent Jerry McKernan won re-election as 3rd District Commissioner.

In Jackson County, Sheriff Tim Morse will retain his position. Morse easily defeated Republican challenger Jim Honn and write-in candidate Bob McNicholas.

Janet Zwonitzer was elected as the new 2nd District Commissioner with 67 percent of the vote over challenger Harold Kennedy. Zwonitzer will replace Roger Coverdale who didn't seek re-election.

In the race for 3rd District County Commissioner, results Tuesday night had Bill Elmer defeating Brad Hamilton by a 2-vote margin. The results could change after votes are canvassed Monday.

In Nemaha County, Sheriff Rich Vernon easily won re-election to another term.

There will be a new 3rd District Commissioner. Democrat Dennis Henry won a three-way race with 50 percent of the vote over incumbent Independent candidate Mark Wessel and Republican Tom Kramer.

In Marshall County, voters in Marysville approved a 6-tenths of a percent retailers sales tax to fund the construction of a new city pool by 167 vote margin.

Jamie Ellenbecker was elected as county treasurer.

Incumbent Tom Holle won re-election as 2nd District Commissioner and Charles Loiseau was re-elected as 3rd District Commissioner

Many Signals Communications