Nebraska Students Participate in Election Process

(KTNC) - The Nebraska Secretary of State is recognizing students for their work at the polls during this year's primary and general elections. That includes several students from Richardson County. In all, 264 students participated in this year's Youth Election Service, a program meant to increase interest and involvement in the election system among youth 14 to 18 years of age. Students from 27 counties worked over 1,400 hours during the statewide elections.

Students who worked at least four hours at their polling site were entered into a drawing to receive a \$50 savings bond from the Nebraska Bankers' Association. Four winners were chosen from each of five designated districts. Among the savings bond winners is Nicole Romine of Falls City. Richardson County had the highest number of participants in the YES program, with 36, followed by Hamilton County with 31 participants. Richardson County is one of five counties to take part in

the program each year since it started in 2004.

Secretary of State John Gale says he was amazed to see that some students worked 12 or more hours at polling places for each of the elections. He said that provides a significant community service.

Participants in the YES program from Richardson County include: Nathan Stuckemeyer, Britney Huppert, and Kristen Kean of Dawson; Abigail Murphy, Jennifer Wendtlandt, Nicole Romine, Maygan Ramsey, Elijah Ramer, Taylor O'Brien, Treyvin Bek, Baylee Vrtiska, Jillian Lunsford, and Marrissa Stark from Falls City; Destiny Worthey of Humboldt; Mariah Peck of Rulo; Paige Watkins of Stella; Paige Gutzmer of Table Rock; and Kirstyn Buchholz and Reba Burgett of Verdon.

Also participating in the program were Cory Haase of Pawnee City and Taylor Bredemeier of Pawnee City; and Alyson Gottula of Tecumseh.

All of the YES participants will receive a certificate from the Secretary of State's office.

MSC News