Kansas Corn Yield Contest Winners Honored

Kansas growers who entered the Kansas Corn Yield Contest overcame challenging planting and growing conditions to produce high yields in 2019. Southwest Kansas grower Tyler Hands, Finney County, entered the top irrigated yield in the contest at 304 bushels per acre with Pioneer P1828AM. Northeast Kansas grower Alex Noll, Leavenworth County, entered the top dryland yield at 281 bushels per acre with DeKalb 6674 RIB SS.

"We had some great entries into the Kansas Corn Yield Contest," Kansas Corn Director of Research and Stewardship Dale Fjell said. "With the contest in its second year, we plan to continue building this program, learn from the results and showcase the productivity of Kansas corn producers."

The contest offers awards to dryland and irrigated winners in ten districts, along with one statewide dryland and one statewide irrigated winner. The winners were recognized at the 2020 Kansas Corn Symposium on Jan. 23.

The Kansas Corn Yield Contest was created to recognize high-yielding Kansas corn farmers and gain information to improve practices and increase efficiency for greater sustainability and profitability. Sharing the data collected among Kansas farmers benchmarks the corn yields and provides information for improving management practices.

Below is a list of the yield contest winners and the county where their winning field was grown.

OVERALL STATE DRYLAND AND IRRIGATED WINNERS

Dryland: Alex Noll, Leavenworth County; Yield: 281 bu./acre; Hybrid: DeKalb 6674 RIB SS Irrigated: Tyler Hands, Finney County; Yield: 303.8175 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P1828AM

NORTHWEST | DISTRICT 1

Dryland Category

1st Place: Leo Zodrow, Decatur County; Yield: 156.3544 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P0805AM

2nd Place: Justin Zodrow, Decatur County; Yield: 152.1988; Hybrid: Pioneer P1498AM1 3rd Place: Leo Zodrow, Decatur County; Yield: 134.3523 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P0805AM

Irrigated Category

1st Place: Jason Geisinger, Sheridan County; Yield: 252.8021 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P1366AM

2nd Place: Harold Koster, Sheridan County; Yield: 250.5278 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer

P1366Q

3rd Place: Mark Hill, Sheridan; Yield: 240.98 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P1370Q

WEST CENTRAL | DISTRICT 2

Dryland Category

1st Place: Jason Edwards, Logan County; Yield: 162 bu./acre; Hybrid: AgriGold 6499STX

SOUTHWEST | DISTRICT 3

Irrigated Category 1st Place: Tyler Hands, Finney County; Yield: 303.8175 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P1828AM 2nd Place: Tyler Hands, Finney County; Yield: 283.7761 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P1828AM 3rd Place: Tyler Hands, Finney County; Yield: 267.30; Hybrid: Pioneer P1366AM

NORTH CENTRAL | DISTRICT 4

Dryland Category

1st Place: Lee Pifer, Washington County; Yield: 197.5017 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P1244AM2nd Place: Sue Pifer, Washington County; Yield: 189.4397 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P1244AM 3rd Place: Ryan Stewart, Washington County; Yield: 184.8998 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P1244AM

Irrigated Category

1st Place: Todd Cyr, Cloud County; Yield: 272.6653 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P1828AM 2nd Place: Faye Cyr, Cloud County; Yield: 263.3359 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P1828AM 3rd Place: Cordell Cyr, Cloud County; Yield: 247.1330 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P1828AM

CENTRAL | DISTRICT 5

Dryland Category

1st Place: Neal Galle, McPherson County; Yield: 157.93 bu./acre; Hybrid: AgriGold 6619

Irrigated Category

1st Place: John Bergkamp, McPherson County; Yield: 288.22 bu./acre; Hybrid: AgriGold 6544VT2

SOUTH CENTRAL | DISTRICT 6

Dryland Category

1st Place: Aaron Pauly, Sedgwick County; Yield: 201.8035 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer 1847AML

2nd Place: Bruce Seiler, Sedgwick County; Yield: 194.2562 bu./acre; Hybrid: DeKalb 6355

3rd Place: Tony Spexarth, Sedgwick County; Yield: 149.73 bu./acre; Hybrid: AgriGold A6619VT2RIB

Irrigated Category

1st Place: Tony Spexarth, Sedgwick County; Yield: 251.2047 bu./acre; Hybrid: AgriGold 6544VT2RIB

NORTHEAST | DISTRICT 7

Dryland Category

1st Place: Alex Noll, Leavenworth County; Yield: 281 bu./acre; Hybrid: DeKalb 6674 RIB SS

2nd Place: Ryan Holthaus, Brown County; Yield: 217.17 bu./acre; Hybrid: Mycogen MY12G35

3rd Place: Cliff Swart, Nemaha County; Yield: 212 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer 1366

EAST CENTRAL | DISTRICT 8

Dryland Category

1st Place: Glenn Caldwell, Anderson County; Yield: 132.08 bu./acre; Hybrid: DeKalb 52-61 RIB

SOUTHEAST | DISTRICT 9

Dryland Category

1st Place: Shawn Geffert, Allen County; Yield: 168.42 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P1151 AM

NORTH NORTHEAST | DISTRICT 10

Dryland Category

1st Place: Robert Henry, Brown County; Yield: 245.67 bu./acre; Hybrid: Pioneer P1563M 2nd Place: Traci Noll, Doniphan County; Yield: 241.8 bu./acre; Hybrid: DeKalb 66-75 3rd Place: Doug Armstrong, Atchison County; Yield: 236.9783 bu./acre; Hybrid: AgriGold A6499

Irrigated Category

1st Place: James Mueller, Brown County; Yield: 260.8756 bu./acre

NCYC Results: To view Kansas winners in the National Corn Yield Contest, <u>follow this</u> <u>link</u>.