8 nominees vying for area district judge vacancy

(KNZA)--Eight nominees are vying to fill a district judge vacancy in the 2nd Judicial District.

Chief Judge Gary Nafziger of Jefferson County is retiring January 11.

The 2nd Judicial District includes Jackson, Jefferson, Pottawatomie and Wabaunsee Counties.

According to a release from the Kansas Courts, among the eight nominees are Jackson County Attorney Shawna Miller and Jefferson County Attorney Joshua Ney.

The other nominees include:

- Amy Crawford, Salina, former assistant county attorney for Dickinson County;
- Christopher T. Etzel, Havensville, private practice lawyer and city attorney for Onaga, Havensville, and Wheaton;
- Douglas A. Hager, Valley Falls, attorney for Kansas Department of Labor;
- Darla Ottensmeier, Oskaloosa, private practice lawyer;
- Stephen O. Phillips, Perry, assistant attorney general for Kansas Attorney General's Office; and
- Ted E. Smith, Lawrence, attorney for Kansas Department of Revenue.

The release says the 2nd Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene at the Kansas Judicial Center, in Topeka, on November 17 to interview the nominees.

The commission will then select three to five, whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill the position. The governor will have 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint.

The nominating commission will also interview eight nominees on

November 17th to fill a district magistrate judge vacancy in the 2nd Judicial District. District Magistrate Judge Blaine Carter of Wabaunsee County will retire December 8.

Among the nominees are Johnathan Ehrlich, of Oskaloosa, a law clerk for the Jefferson County Attorney's Office and Michael Clark, of Wamego, court services probation officer for Pottawatomie County.

Following the interviews, the nominating commission will appoint a new district magistrate judge.

Many Signals Communications