3 nominees names sent to Gov. to fill area judge vacancy

(KNZA)--The 2nd Judicial District Nominating Commission has sent the names of three nominees to Gov. Laura Kelly to fill the vacancy in Jefferson County that will be created by the retirement of Chief Judge Gary Nafziger on January 11.

According to a release from the Kansas Courts, the nominees include Jackson County Attorney Shawna Miller, Jefferson County Attorney Joshua Ney and Havensville attorney Christopher Etzel.

The governor will have 60 days after receiving the names of the nominees to decide whom to appoint.

They were among eight nominees interviewed Tuesday by video conference.

After serving one year in office, the new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

The 2nd Judicial District is composed of Jackson, Jefferson, Pottawatomie, and Wabaunsee counties

Many Signals Communications