Holt and Atchison Count MO election results

(KLZA)-- Tuesday was General Municipal Election Day in Missouri.

Results of contested races in Holt and Atchison counties included in Holt County:

Voters approved a half-percent countywide sales tax for 10 years with funds to be used for road improvements and bridges 239 - 67.

Joni Everhart and Haily Randall were elected to three-year terms on the Nodaway Holt R-VII School Board with 30 and 20 votes respectively.

Kayla Whetsel with 18 votes and Ashley Jones with 13 votes were elected to 2-year terms on the City of Craig Board of Aldermen.

Donald Schaeffer defeated Gregory Book in the race for Mayor of Forest City 47-22.

Residents of the Village of Big Lake approved a thirty-cent increase in the levy on one hundred dollars of assessed valuation for general pumping expenses for 4 years 16 - 0.

In Atchison County, Missouri, voters approved a county-wide half-cent sales tax for a period of 10 years to pay for road rock, 757 - 179 This is an extension of the current sales tax.

A proposal to levy a tax on all real agricultural or horticultural property in Atchison County at a rate not to exceed one-dollar per acre for a period of 10 years with funds to be placed in a “special Road Rock Fund” and used only for purchasing rock to be placed on county roads in Atchison County was approved 690 -242. Passage of the measure continues the present tax levy.

Atchison County voters also approved continuing the Economic Development Sales Tax question at a rate of one-fourth of 1% for a period of five years.

Elected to serve three-year terms on the Tarkio R-1 School Board were Philip Corey Martin, Samuel James Hannah and James Navan Jr.

Michael Graves defeated Doug McCoy for the North Ward Alderman seat in Rock Port 56 - 28.

Jeffrey Agnew received 214 write-in votes for Mayor of Tarkio for a two year term, outpolling Laura Gibbons with 108 votes and Darrell Wiley with 52.

Blu Dow was elected to the North Ward Alderman seat in Tarkio with 210 votes to 40 for Brittany Vogler.

Tarkio voters approved a half-cent sales tax to pay for the purchase of a new fire truck and future improvements to City buildings and equipment.

Kameron Woodring with 32 votes and Tristan Ray with 6 votes cast were elected as Fairfax Aldermen at-large for a two-year period.

The Fairfax proposal for a 3% sales tax on all retail sales of adult use marijuana sold in the city passed on a vote of 80 in favor and 10 against.

© Many Signals Communications

You will need to be logged in to leave a comment.

Please Login

characters left

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.

Click here to review our Terms of Use.