KS winners of National corn yield contest announced

Despite the many challenges faced in 2020, Kansas corn farmers persevered and pushed to compete in the 56th annual National Corn Yield Contest, conducted by the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA). The 27 national winners in 9 production categories had verified yields averaging more than 345.9 bushels per acre, compared to the projected national average of 175 bushels per acre nationwide.

The top 18 Kansas winners posted yields averaging 285 bushels per acre, compared to the projected state average of 132 bushels per acre. Kansas winners topped 300 bushels per acre in four of the six state categories.

The top yield overall comes from the Strip, Min, Mulch, Ridge-Till Non-Irrigated category and belongs to Jeff Koelzer of Onaga with 323 bushels per acre. The second highest is from the Conventional Irrigated category and belongs to Grant Webber from Sublette with 317 bushels per acre.

“This contest brings farmers together to create, innovate and explore ways to optimize the nation’s largest and arguably most important crop,” said Debbie Borg, 2020 chair of NCGA’s Member and Consumer Engagement Action Team. “At both the state and national levels, contest winners find new ways to excel while using a variety of techniques. Ultimately, the invention and improvement by farmers and input providers enable U.S. farmers to continue to meet the future demand for critical food, feed, fuel and fiber.”

For more than half a century, NCGA’s National Corn Yield Contest has provided corn growers with the opportunity to compete with their colleagues to grow the most corn per acre, helping feed and fuel the world. This has given participants not only the recognition they deserved but the opportunity to learn from their peers.

While not winning any national awards this year, Kansas corn producers turned in impressive yields. State winners of the national contest are listed below. The winners of the Kansas Corn Yield Contest will be released in January.

Kansas State Winners of the 2020 National Corn Yield Contest

Conventional Non-Irrigated

  1. Jason Taylor, White Cloud; 293 bu./acre; Taylor Seed Farms 8824
  2. Brad Taylor, White Cloud; 290 bu./acre; Taylor Seed Farms 8013
  3. Alex Dunn, Doniphan County; 273 bu./acre; DEKALB DKC70-27RIB


No-Till Non-Irrigated

  1. Dean and Victor Menold, Hiawatha; 301 bu./acre; Beck’s Hybrids 6414VT2P
  2. Glenn Heinen, Seneca; 274 bu./acre; Pioneer P1464AML
  3. Roger Rush, Highland; 267 bu./acre; DEKALB DKC66-18RIB


Strip, Min, Mulch, Ridge-Till Non-Irrigated

  1. Jeff Koelzer, Onaga; 323 bu./acre; DEKALB DKC63-57RIB
  2. Richard Nietfeld, Marysville; 282 bu./acre; Pioneer P1563AM
  3. Gary Kramer, Seneca; 262 bu./acre; Pioneer P1563AM


No-Till Irrigated

  1. Harold Koster, Hoxie; 275 bu./acre; Pioneer P1366AML
  2. Terry & Dayton Menold, Hiawatha; 273 bu./acre; Pioneer P1572AM
  3. Grant Kerschen, Turon; 231 bu./acre; Pioneer P2089AML


Strip, Min, Mulch, Ridge-Till Irrigated

  1. Ryan Jagels, Garden City; 312 bu./acre; Pioneer P1108Q
  2. Thad Arganbright, Waterville; 282 bu./acre; Pioneer P1828AM
  3. David Walker, Johnson; 282 bu./acre; Pioneer P1828Q


Conventional Irrigated

  1. Grant E Webber, Sublette; 317 bu./acre; Pioneer P1828AM
  2. Chris Bodenhausen, Muscotah; 302 bu./acre; DEKALB DKC66-18RIB
  3. Kristin Fuhrman, Lancaster; 285 bu./acre; AgriGold A6544 VT2RIB


A full list of Kansas entries is available here.

© Many Signals Communications

You will need to be logged in to leave a comment.

Please Login

characters left

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.

Click here to review our Terms of Use.