New Atchison leaders sworn-in Monday

(KAIR)--New leadership for the City of Atchison was sworn in Monday, with the Atchison City Commission then organizing in time for the new year.

Sworn into office, at the start of Monday's meeting of the Atchison City Commission, were newly elected Commissioners Bill Murphy and Mike Slattery, as well as incumbent Lisa Moody, who was re-elected in November.

Once the ceremony was completed, the Commission moved on to the process of electing a new Chair, ceremonially referred to as Mayor, with La Rochelle Young named to that role.

With Young named to the Mayoral position, nominations were taken for the role of Vice-Mayor, with that role going to the Moody.

Once organization of the Commission was complete, the Atchison leaders entered into the business of their regular meeting, including public comments regarding the City's homeless situation, with recommendations, not immediately approved, on ways to assist those in need.

© Many Signals Communications

You will need to be logged in to leave a comment.

Please Login

characters left

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.

Click here to review our Terms of Use.