Several area agencies awarded criminal justice grants

KS Governor Laura Kelly

(MSC News)--More than $2.3 million will be awarded to 28 Kansas agencies to improve the criminal justice system and enhance support services for crime victims.

Among the recipients are several local area agencies, including nearly $125,000 for the Jackson County Sheriff's Office; two Leavenworth County agencies, including the Basehor Police Department receiving $37.5 thousand and the Brothers in Blue Reentry Program earns more than $96,000; and the Marysville Police Department, in Marshall County, receives $43,000.

Kansas Governor Laura Kelly, in a release announcing the financial awards, call the funds "investments" into the Kansas criminal justice system and crime victims service programs that she says will make communites safer as the "grants provide the funding necessary to strengthen crime prevention and crime victims services, address equipment and technology needs, and support mental health services.”

A total of $2,344,580 was awarded. The funding comes from the 2024 Federal Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program.

The Kansas Criminal Justice Coordinating Council oversees the criminal justice federal funding made available to Kansas through the U.S. Department of Justice.

© Many Signals Communications

You will need to be logged in to leave a comment.

Please Login

characters left

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.

Click here to review our Terms of Use.