Contested races highlight election day in Holt, Atchison Co MO

(KLZA)-- Tuesday is General Municipal election Day in Missouri.

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Contested races in Holt County, Missouri include:

City Alderman in Craig. Electing two. Running are Bruce Ideker, Rick Panning, Kayla Whetsel and Ashley Jones.

Nodaway-Holt R-VII School District: Electing two. Those running are Joni Everhart; Elizabeth Renshaw; Misty Dawn Million; Travis Cochenour and Haily Randall.

Mayor of Forest City; Running are Gregory Book and Donald Schaeffer.

Tax levy questions on the ballots will include:

Shall Holt County impose a one-half-cent sales tax for 10 years for improving roads and bridges?

Village of Big Lake voters will cast a ballot for or against renewal of a thirty-cent levy increase on one hundred dollars of assessed valuation for general pumping expenses for a period of four years.

Atchison County, Missouri contested elections include:

Shall Atchison County extend the county-wide sales tax at a rate of one-half cent for a period of 10 years for funding the local share of road rock? A vote of yes is to continue the tax at is current rate.

A second tax proposal requiring a yes or no vote is if the county should levy a tax on all real property in Atchison County, classified as agricultural or horticultural at a rate not to exceed one dollar per acre for a period of 10 years with the proceeds to be placed in a Special Road Rock Fund, and used only for the purchase of road rock to be placed on county roads within the boundaries of the county. A yes vote is for continuing the current tax levy.

Atchison County voters will also casting a yes or no vote on a proposal to continue a county-wide sales tax at a rate of one-quarter of one cent for a period of five years for funding the operation of the county-wide economic development office.

Tarkio R-1 School District voters will be electing two school board members. Running are Samuel James Hannah, Terry Slemp Jr.; James Navin JR. and Philip Corey Martin.

Rock Port voters will select a North Ward Alderman for a two-year term. Running are Doug McCoy and Michael Graves.

The city of Tarkio will cast votes for either Laura Gibbons or Darrell Wiley for Mayor for the next two years and will elected either Blu Dow or Brittany Vogler for two years as North Ward Alderman.

Tarkio voters will cast yes or no votes on a resolution for the city of Tarko to collect a one-half cent sales tax with funds used to purchase a new fire truck and for future improvements to City buildings and equipment.

Fairfax voters will vote yes or no ona proposed three percent sales tax on all retail sales of adult use marijuana sold in the City of Fairfax.

© Many Signals Communications

You will need to be logged in to leave a comment.

Please Login

characters left

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.

Click here to review our Terms of Use.